Faith and Hope and Love…

Image

It is said that premature babies who get Kangaroo care do a lot better than prem babies who do not experience that type of care. And that babies who receive or experience no loving touch will deteriorate and eventually die , even if they get enough nourishment.

I am sure that the same holds true for adults.

In the last nearly five years of being divorced I can probably count on two hands the times when I have experienced  some form semi intimate touch from another human being. A hand on the knee. A hug. It has been years since I last held someone in my arms.

The need for some intimate human touch is overwhelming. I lie in bed at night and I cling to a pillow while the pain of being lonely threatens to crush my insides.

And tomorrow morning I get up and go back to my boring routine life. Back to another day of being alone. And soon another weekend. And soon another month. It is slowly wearing me down. Making me loose hope and faith.

The bible speaks about Faith , Hope and Love. Strange how you start to lose the other two if you do not experience the one.

http://www.jonbateman.ca/the-loneliness-epidemic

2 thoughts on “Faith and Hope and Love…

  1. “I can probably count on two hands the times when I have experienced some form semi intimate touch from another human being. A hand on the knee. A hug.”
    Hierdie slaan so naby aan huis soos dêmmit aan ‘n vloekwoord…

Comments are closed.